What is carryover?
Carryover is the process of retrieving student data once it has been archived from the previous school year. This could be necessary if a child's data got archived last school year but they will be using Hatch products again this school year.
What child data can be retrieved from archive?
When you carryover a child you’ll get back all of the child’s personal information (name, demographics, picture, age, etc.), their guardian's information (name, email, etc.), and all of the child’s play and progress data from the previous school year. If the child’s guardian had a Hatch login, their previous login information will also be retrieved.
Who can carryover children?
Organization administrators, school administrators, and teacher roles can all access the carryover feature, but only organization administrators will be able to edit all the archived children in the organization. School administrators can carryover any archived children in their school and teachers can carry over any archived children in their classes.
What do I need to do to prepare for carryover?
The best way to prepare to carryover students is to first create all your classes for the new school year. Then once you know which kids will need to have their data retrieved, we recommend that you make a list of these children with the class they will be in this year.
How do I carryover?
We’ve created two ways to do carryover: Simple and Bulk.
Simple carryover allows you to go class by class, carrying over the students that you need. It is recommended for users with less than 50 children on their child carryover list or if you only have a few classes to carryover children for.
Bulk carryover will be done by CSV file and it will allow you to upload a file of all your carryover children. This is recommended if you have a lot of children to carryover and you’re comfortable creating CSVs.
To start the carryover process, navigate to Carryover last years children and from here you will be able to choose your preferred method and follow the instruction on the page.
What if I opted out of archiving?
If your Organizational Admin opted out of archive, all of your children's data will remain in Hatch, and carryover will not be required.
I archived everyone what do I do?
Don't panic, it's a new year. We suggest setting up your new classes and adding any new children to Hatch first. Then make note of all returning children, and follow our step-by-step process to include these children in their new class.