What is Archive?
Archive is the process where class, child, and family data is archived and reset so that organizations can start fresh for the new school year. Just like you put your files safe in storage, we do the same with your organization's data. When you archive a child, they will no longer be able to access and play Ignite. Their family members will also be archived. Keep this in mind if your organization is interested in allowing children to play Ignite over the summertime.
This feature allows organizations to have more flexibility when it comes to archiving their users.
Who is in charge of archiving our data?
Currently, Organizational Admins will be the only people who can Archive your data.
How do I Archive my organization's data?
Is there anything I should do before Archiving my data?
If you plan to do a custom archive, just make sure you know which classes and students you will want to include or exclude from Archive.
If you would like to keep any current data, then the best way to do this is to export the logs with the data you’d like to keep. To learn more about exporting data check out this article. You can also use the Print Report button located on the right side of the screen in the blue bar at the top of the screen on any of the playtime or progress reports pages to get a PDF of the data shown. For more information about printing reports, check out this article.
Where are my Archive Settings?
Currently, only Organization Administrators have access to archive settings. They will be able to find their archive settings page by navigating to their organization settings page in the top menu (under Roster) or by visiting this page.
When does Archive take place?
Archiving is typically done after the end of the school year but before the start of the next year. This allows for a clean slate at the start of the new school year. However, Organizational Administrators can select any future date for Archiving. If the Archive Settings are not updated, then classes, children, and families will be archived on August 1st. It is recommended to Archive before adding new classes/children and before carrying over any children. Note: the Archive process will take place at night.
For teachers and families, archive announcements in the form of emails and a banner in Insights will allow you to keep track of your organization’s archive date.
What if I don't want to Archive?
Organizational Administrators can opt out of Archive by going to your archive settings. Note: Opting out can have some unintended consequences. For example, you may end up with more children than you have licenses for or your data will be skewed as new children join. To learn how to opt-out check out this article.
What if I accidentally Archived?
If you forgot to opt-out or change the date of archive for your organization, and Archive takes place, you can use our carry-over feature to get the data for children and their family members back, but you won't be able to get your classes back. If you need to do this please contact our support team.
Why do we need to Archive?
Archiving gives organizations a clean slate to start the new year and bring in new children to Ignite. It is best to archive children who will not be using Ignite in your organization during the next school year.
What happens if I don't make any changes to my Archive Settings?
If you do not edit your archive settings then the default action is to archive on August 1st and all classes, children, and families in your organization will be archived.
What happens to inactive students when I archive?
If you choose the standard archive option then your inactive children will also be archived. However, if you'd like to use custom archive and be able to archive these inactive children then you must first make them active. Only active children will appear in the custom archive table on the archive settings page. Check out this article for more information about how to activate children.